• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Aimi gamer

Aimi gamer

Closet Otaku

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts
  • Who I fangirl over:Sephiroth, Abel Nightroad (lots of them)

Posted 27 July 2010 - 01:16 PM

I learn Japanese by myself for about 3 years. I tried few otome games but the language is too hard for me. What kanji grade (school 1-6) have you known when you started playing? I heard that Tokimeki is easy but for me some kanji are simplified (hard to find in dictionary if you don't know it earlier). Which game do you consider the easest (beacause of language)? It doesn't matter if it is all age or 18+.

#2 Nika

Nika

borderline spammer.

• Queen Otaku
  • PipPipPip
  • 758 posts
  • Interests:Music, Rpg's, Music, Anime, music, manga, and ummm, Music :D
  • Who I fangirl over:Hihara Kazuki, Himuro Reiichi, Ace, Julius

Posted 27 July 2010 - 01:46 PM

No idea what kanji grade I have :/ but I started playing otome games after studying 1.5 - 2 years I think? Of course I understand a lot more now (a year later) than I did then, but even at the time I understood most of it.

I would say tokimeki really is one of the easiest games language wise, mostly because the actual amount of text isn't that much either. Starry Sky isn't too difficult either, the only thing you might want too look up are some of the terms related to astrology.

Other than that, I'd advise to stick with games that are set in the present time (and world) to avoid weird terminology. Also, don't force yourself to look up every word, it will only take all of the fun out of it. If you understand the general meaning of a sentence you can often manage just fine, playing longer will increase your vocabulary automatically. If it helps, stick with (almost) fully voiced games, I find I can understand a lot more than I can read, plus it helps if you already know the pronunciation when you want to look something up.

#3 sheepishsheep

sheepishsheep

一生直兄さん押し

• Queen Otaku
  • PipPipPipPip